hoo-rah kids

Standard

Image

I’ve been trying to think of how to write about ICM. How to verbalize what the kids and the community that I’ve gotten the chance to spend time in have meant to me.  That’s tricky. There are images that come to mind: Kayla wrapped around my neck and Charles balancing on the monkey bars and Nariah shouting about the devil and Nate with a pink face…there’s a lot. I’m thinking about the coolest kids at Baylor and how I got to hang out with them once a week. I’m thinking about the very particular smell of kool aid on a car seat that will probably haunt me for the rest of my life.
I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I first went to the Ferrell Center to see what this was all about. I didn’t even go to Woodway at the time, I was just drawn to the idea. I couldn’t have known it would change me this much. I thought I knew what I was in for when I started ICM leadership…but I was wrong. I was totally unprepared for kool aid all over my car and replacing a thousand footballs and rain decisions and moon bounce drama and the theology of snack time. I was so blessed to have pastors who let me make mistakes. It must have been scary to let me bring twenty hyper children to a basketball game (and Wendy’s) on the day after Prayer Awakening with ten exhausted college students, but it worked (sometimes things didn’t work, and they were supportive those times, too). But if you’re reading this Chris Boggus I’m still grumpy about the rollerblading.
I can’t stay here. I have no idea what I’m getting myself into with PT school, but like C.S. Lewis said “It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for a bird to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.” A substantial piece of my heart and prayers will stay at the Villages with Michael and Sam and Andrea and Ross and Josh and Zach and everybody else who will be around next year, but I have to trust God to take care of His children…and of me.

Leave a Reply

